No kills today... yet.

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
05/04/24 +5.3 Days

Search

Anniversaries

21th - Chubba

Social Media

Why not join us on Discord for a chat, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

[FAQ
Forum Index » » English (General) » » capturing
 Author capturing
Demigan
Vice Admiral

Posted: 2011-09-19 13:13   
I'm rather new to the game, but there are several things that I would think increase the game, mainly capturing

First, the pirates. They are notorious during the game for stealing ships, and while I've seen them do well coördinated attacks on planets to capture them, I've yet to see one try and capture a ship.
So you could add something similar to the AI trying to capture planets. When a lone ship is spotted by a pirate, there is a chance that 2 pirate ships will warp in soon after. These will harry the lone ship for 1 minute, then a transport (or if speed and armour might be a problem, a fast scout with a large cargobay) warps in and try's to capture the ship, maybe with the first ships dropping their own troopers.
To prevent free kills for everybody, your ship strength will be accounted for. A dreadnought will be a less likely target, so there is less chance pirates warp in and try to capture you, if they do however, then the ships warping in to harry and capture it will be strong enough to at least hold out untill the troopers land on top of him.

That way, you would have a far more realistic approach to pirates, who are the whole reason why for instance the ICC was created.

Further, it has irked me that you don't have any control at all over ships you captured, unless they are less then your rank.
Why this has his pluspoints as you can't order too powerfull ships around (the first 2 ships I've captured were both MI Longheads I captured more or less by accident), it does seem a bit odd that the infantry you ordered immidiately get a higher rank then you.