No kills today... yet.

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
03/30/24 +1.8 Days

Search

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Social Media

Why not join us on Discord for a chat, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Basic Scripting Discussion » » Need some help w/ Lua tables
 Author Need some help w/ Lua tables
Binks
1st Rear Admiral

Posted: 2005-08-02 13:07   
Okay, I'm relatively new to programming as a whole (done some games/utilities in C# and that's it) and I need help. Ever since I first discovered how to work the editor I've wondered how to script, and wanted to be able to access the Adv. script area to learn editor scripting.

Until a few days ago I kept putting off learning scripting because I really didn't want to spend the time learning a new programming language. However since I had some free time I decided to try. Mainly through trial and error I've learned a lot about Lua since then, and have built a program that can do what is required for the first 3 steps of the Lua excercises but then I get to the table and I have no clue how to get that to work at all. The manual is incredably vague when it comes to tables, and the code it tells you to use to make a table doesn't work. Can anyone tell me how to make a table? That's really all I think I'll need to know to complete the majority of the training things, other than 9 which will take some in-depth searching about recieving input I'm sure (C# seems much better in that regard...just a simple "int.parse (textboxname)"...). Thanks for any help!

Powered by Stormtroopers and Red Shirts

Shigernafy
Admiral

Posted: 2005-08-02 17:28