Welcome aboard Visitor...

Daily Screenshot

Server Costs Target


9% of target met.

Latest Topics

- Getting our Player Base back »
- What's with the new Metaverse? »
- Carrier default loadouts - ships w/interceptors only? »
- Holly Cow Its alive!! »
- 01001000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 »
- the mi type ships cheat »
- First Person view is possible in DS! »
- Latency Issues »
- missing dll. »
- 1.741 »

Development Blog

- Roadmap »
- Hello strangers, it’s been a while... »
- State of DarkSpace Development »
- Potential planetary interdictor changes! »
- The Silent Cartographer »
- Cloaking update... »
- Tools for tips »
- Fleet levels and more! »
- Game Mechanics Question and Answer Thread »
- Under Construction »

Combat Kills

Combat kills in last 24 hours:
Kills chart
Killboard

Upcoming Events

- International Talk like a Pirate Day!
09/19/19 +94.8 Days
- Towel Day
05/25/20 +343.8 Days

Search

 

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Facebook & Twitter

Why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » [BUG REPORTS] General - Feb. 13 2006
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
 Author [BUG REPORTS] General - Feb. 13 2006
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2006-02-18 23:13   
Quote:

On 2006-02-18 12:50, Malorn wrote:
(1) You can't build the colony hub on a world without metals. Therefore, only worlds with metals can ever have any development on them. An example is Tinka, which, due to lack of metals, is unbuilt.

Without the colony hub you can't get the population to operate. On a terran world this could be worked around since it already supports a population. But barren worlds must have metals, or they are unbuildable. And since you can't load metals into a ship and fly them over anymore, you're stuck.

If there's something I'm just missing then feel free to correct me.




Bring the resources with you or mine them while you are there.
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2006-02-19 00:46   
This does cause a big problem, as inf dissappear immediately if you scrap them and there are not enough active domes/farms to support them.
It makes building those planets effectively impossible.

[ This Message was edited by: Drafell on 2006-02-19 01:08 ]
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Malorn
1st Rear Admiral

Joined: December 11, 2003
Posts: 42
From: USA Eastern Time
Posted: 2006-02-19 12:25   
@Ğrow - It's not a question of resources, at least not the kind that can be mined. It's more that a planet without metal can't build a colony hub, and as you doubtless know, metal can no longer be mined and transported.


@Drafell - Ya I tried that as well, didn't work for me either.

[ This Message was edited by: Malorn on 2006-02-19 12:27 ]
_________________
There are things in this world that man was not meant to know . . . and we have most of them convieniently arranged alphabetically by title.

Rae
Admiral
Raven Warriors

Joined: May 23, 2002
Posts: 280
From: 10 minutes away in a fast boat
Posted: 2006-02-19 12:47   
ICC Escort dessie is still gimped, able to equip 4 hcl's in place of pulse beam/lasers, which gives possible 4 pd and 4 hcl, plus the normal upgradeable weapons... makes for a pretty kick@ss ship.. i went head to head against uggie cruisers in a dessie and was able to hold my own, if not get the upper hand...
_________________
-so precious lovin the thrill...

Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4031
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-19 14:48   
@drow, been said already, but that just doesnt work. if a planet has 'N' as a resource, dumping a load of resources will make more of 'N', but you cant move 'N' from one planet to another

Quote:

On 2006-02-19 12:47, Rae wrote:
ICC Escort dessie is still gimped, able to equip 4 hcl's in place of pulse beam/lasers, which gives possible 4 pd and 4 hcl, plus the normal upgradeable weapons... makes for a pretty kick@ss ship.. i went head to head against uggie cruisers in a dessie and was able to hold my own, if not get the upper hand...


its supposed to be that way. picket and escort dessies are anti-missile ships, PD boats. all dessies are weaker for that matter, now that armor's been pretty well fixed. dread > cruiser > dessie > frigate > scout
and i dont know about you holding your own, i recall hearing something about you getting killed by a dictor in that..
_________________


  ICQ status
Rae
Admiral
Raven Warriors

Joined: May 23, 2002
Posts: 280
From: 10 minutes away in a fast boat
Posted: 2006-02-19 21:11   
lol... it was a telephone that got me in the end that and the fact that i'm so rusty at ds that i squeak every time i hit the spacebar!!
_________________
-so precious lovin the thrill...

Mersenne Twister
Fleet Admiral
Palestar


Joined: May 11, 2003
Posts: 1161
From: Sector C Test Labs and Contol Facilities
Posted: 2006-02-20 16:20   
Repair will still work if you jump away from a person that you're repairing



most ugto cant mount reflective armor


[ This Message was edited by: Doran on 2006-07-05 10:28 ]
_________________

I wouldn't screw with it if I were you. The doctor already holds you in poor favor. Messing with this might really fry his shorts.

Fatal Ants (XO)
Chief Marshal

Joined: February 11, 2005
Posts: 315
From: Canada
Posted: 2006-02-20 17:16   
Luth Still have arc bug lureing around had it in both a hive a mandi aswell as a Siphon
_________________


Mersenne Twister
Fleet Admiral
Palestar


Joined: May 11, 2003
Posts: 1161
From: Sector C Test Labs and Contol Facilities
Posted: 2006-02-20 18:33   
a fleet of ships can sit at about 300-400gu from a planet with kluth defences and not be shot at

[ This Message was edited by: FireMoth (Ask before you shoot) on 2006-02-20 18:35 ]
_________________

I wouldn't screw with it if I were you. The doctor already holds you in poor favor. Messing with this might really fry his shorts.

GothThug {C?}
Fleet Admiral
Interstellar Cultural Confederation United


Joined: June 29, 2005
Posts: 2932
Posted: 2006-02-21 09:59   
UGTO: Forward Arc bug is still there, The Intercepter Frig wont fire at close range, The Picket Dessies Weapns hmm are nice lol,

ICC: The Missle Dread sucks now as i cant fire missles at close range anymore lol, The Assault Cruiser wont fire torps at close range hmm, when boarded, it auto destructs is that supposed to happen?

Kluth: oh dont get me started on this one, The Mandible wont fire either weapon when im at close range with a planet or enemy thats what sucks oh and Cloak doesnt even seem to phase the planet sensors either it still see's me and fires even with no ECCM on the planet surface blah
_________________


  Email GothThug {C?}
Mersenne Twister
Fleet Admiral
Palestar


Joined: May 11, 2003
Posts: 1161
From: Sector C Test Labs and Contol Facilities
Posted: 2006-02-21 10:26   
you got spotted flying a dread. yes that will happen, regardless of how much ecm you have. same goes for stations
_________________

I wouldn't screw with it if I were you. The doctor already holds you in poor favor. Messing with this might really fry his shorts.

Mad Bum
Grand Admiral
ExtraTerrestrial Space Bums

Joined: March 06, 2004
Posts: 171
Posted: 2006-02-21 14:14   
Close Orbital Bombing is still possible in beta
_________________


Rae
Admiral
Raven Warriors

Joined: May 23, 2002
Posts: 280
From: 10 minutes away in a fast boat
Posted: 2006-02-22 13:24   
Decided to try ICC from a lobbycampers point of view, eg: loggin into the game and starin at the ship selection screen... anyways, found a few typing errors and perhaps ship layout problems..

1) Bomber dessy description states that IT missles have been replaced with ftorps, yet said dessy has neither in its stock form

2) Assault cruiser description states that ship has 5 ftorp launchers, when ship layout says it has 6

As to the layout problems, from what i've seen the low level ships need work. eg: bomber corvette has 1 mirv bomb, and 1 scl... yet the stealth corvette has 2 railguns, 2 sabots, and 1 pulsebeam.. i really dont think a mirv bomb is a tradeoff for a similar ship with 4 more weapons..

We see this same problem with the transport @ 4 railguns and 1 scl vs the heavy transport with 1 mirv and 1 scl... lets give the poor heavy a chance and at least give it 2 railguns.. a heavy ship without some offensive weapons is useless, nothing but a target that can't shoot back. sounds like a good idea for the kluthies and uggies out there though i'm sher

Lastly but once more we revisit the bomber issue.. starting at the bottom and working up.

bomber corvette has 1 mirv 1 scl
bomber frigate has 2 mirv 2 scl
bomber dessy has 3 mirv 2 scl - needs 1 more scl and at least 2 railguns
jump cruiser has 2 mirv 4 scl 4 railguns, 4 missiles 1 ftorp

granted the jc is kind of the multipurpose bomber, but still that is a big jump from the dessy to cruiser class sofar as weapons. and the bd is just another flying coffin.
i know i'm gonna hear that they were made that way so people can't solo bomb, or somesuch, but still.. a ship if seperated from the fleet regardless of whether it's a bomber or not must be able to at least shoot back until his/her jd is recharged.

aside from that, played some more beta and all is good, i personally could fly the kluthie claw all day, and don't mind the cloak at all.. as one that really hasn't played outside of my own faction since 1.478 (or before), the bugs rock


_________________
-so precious lovin the thrill...

Pope
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 11, 2002
Posts: 2449
From: World of tomorrow
Posted: 2006-02-22 17:05   
[Cloak]: Clientside Model Bug

Effect: After Bug occurs, K'luth ship model was visible when cloaked, invisible when uncloaked, ad infinitum. Targetting was not affected, only the model visibility is reversed.

Cause: Quickly changed to Nav screen and back to Tactical, presumeably while K'luth ship model was in cloaking transition state. (Uncloaked->Cloaked) Whether transition started / ended before / after in Nav screen is undefined.

Reproduce: Not yet reproduced. (Will try in the next 1-2 weeks when i find the time)

Obviously somewhere along the line a toggle event was lost. Must be a toggle, not specific cloak() / uncloak() event.

Good luck.
_________________


Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4031
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-22 17:33   
another reason AFE drives suck:
if you switch to AFE, you cant switch back to anythign else
_________________


  ICQ status
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.031297 seconds.


Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Palestar Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR