Welcome aboard Visitor...

Daily Screenshot

Server Costs Target


9% of target met.

Latest Topics

- Getting our Player Base back »
- What's with the new Metaverse? »
- Carrier default loadouts - ships w/interceptors only? »
- Holly Cow Its alive!! »
- 01001000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 »
- the mi type ships cheat »
- First Person view is possible in DS! »
- Latency Issues »
- missing dll. »
- 1.741 »

Development Blog

- Roadmap »
- Hello strangers, it’s been a while... »
- State of DarkSpace Development »
- Potential planetary interdictor changes! »
- The Silent Cartographer »
- Cloaking update... »
- Tools for tips »
- Fleet levels and more! »
- Game Mechanics Question and Answer Thread »
- Under Construction »

Combat Kills

Combat kills in last 24 hours:
Kills chart
Killboard

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
06/15/19 Now
- International Talk like a Pirate Day!
09/19/19 +95.1 Days
- Towel Day
05/25/20 +344.1 Days

Search

 

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Facebook & Twitter

Why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » SY blockage change
 Author SY blockage change
Dwarden
Admiral
CHIMERA

Joined: Jun 07, 2001
Posts: 1072
From: Czech Republic
Posted: 2005-06-29 15:28   
SY blockage must NOT happen until there are at least TWO or THREE enemy capital ships involved !

definitely scout, frigate and dessy (ok let say 3 - 4 dessies maybe) are too small ...

another problem is e.g. kluth ... they jump to area around shipyard planet then move into "edge" of blockage area and start to "appear" and "dissapear" ...

result ?

SY is useless as planet report "blockage" from no real threat ...

so this need to be adjusted for "real" blockage (in any historic blockage on sea You needed more than 1 ship to block port) ...
_________________

... Ideas? ... that's Ocean w/o borders !

  ICQ status
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4031
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2005-06-29 15:30   
blockade range needs to be moved in too, something like 500-600gu
_________________


  ICQ status
Coeus {NCX-Charger}
Admiral
Sundered Weimeriners


Joined: February 16, 2004
Posts: 3634
From: South Philly
Posted: 2005-06-29 15:31   
Leave the range the same, but don't let ships dock, let them undock however.
_________________
rn

Darkspace: Twilight

  Goto the website of Coeus {NCX-Charger}
BackSlash
Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 23, 2003
Posts: 11180
From: Bristol, England
Posted: 2005-06-29 15:57   
Quote:

On 2005-06-29 15:31, Coeus Darksoul wrote:
Leave the range the same, but don't let ships dock, let them undock however.



_________________


  Goto the website of BackSlash
Bobamelius
Grand Admiral
Galactic Navy


Joined: October 08, 2002
Posts: 2073
Posted: 2005-06-29 16:04   
Nooo Coeus

Range needs to be reduced drastically.

If I had it my way, I'd only have blockades initiate when enemy ships were orbiting the planet. But a 500gu range or something like that sounds good.

Also, if it's possible to code, small ships (scouts, frigates, non-combats) should not be able to initiate a blockade at all.
_________________


Shigernafy
Admiral

Joined: May 29, 2001
Posts: 5726
From: The Land of Taxation without Representation
Posted: 2005-06-29 16:58   
Or a blockade is only initiated when the mass of enemy ships exceeds 50.. or something. So two dreads would do it, or four cruisers, or 29 scouts (or whatever; I'm making up numbers). That way, its a matter of the size and scope of the enemy, rather than just a fixed number or hull size - since 29 scouts probably could cause some damage..
_________________
* [S.W]AdmBito @55321 Sent \"I dunno; the French had a few missteps. But they're on the right track, one headbutt at a time.\"

  Email Shigernafy
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2005-06-29 17:39   
Wow! Shigernafy read my mind!

I agree, either move the blockade radius to about 500 gu or implement blockade bymass. Both would work.
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Maskerade
Grand Admiral
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 21, 2002
Posts: 638
From: Canada
Posted: 2005-06-29 17:52   
Well, I like Shig's idea the bestest

Although I'd like to add that the blockade limit should be outside the range of planet based cannon. The whole purpose of a blockade is to cut off the area without actually committing to constant combat. So whatever the range of the planet defence cannons are, add 250 and that should be blockade limit
_________________
- Maskerade

Binks
1st Rear Admiral

Joined: November 28, 2003
Posts: 469
Posted: 2005-06-29 21:42   
In my opinion blockades should only happen when 1-2 dreads, 2-3 cruisers, 1 station, or some number of smaller ships are ORBITTING a planet. Really, do we need to be able to block sy's with a scout 1K gu away? And does that really make any sense? In essense, a blockade would represent the fact that any ships accending from the SY would get blown out of the sky, that would require some ships right next to the SY that have the power to destroy the enemy. Not a scout 1K gu away...
_________________
Midshipmen still need Engineering or Supply Ships

Powered by Stormtroopers and Red Shirts

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.023392 seconds.


Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Palestar Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR