Welcome aboard Visitor...

Daily Screenshot

Server Costs Target

Time running out!

49% of target met.

Latest Topics

- Holly Cow Its alive!! »
- Getting our Player Base back »
- Fully customizable ships? »
- What's with the new Metaverse? »
- Carrier default loadouts - ships w/interceptors only? »
- 01001000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 »
- the mi type ships cheat »
- First Person view is possible in DS! »
- Latency Issues »
- missing dll. »

Development Blog

- Roadmap »
- Hello strangers, it’s been a while... »
- State of DarkSpace Development »
- Potential planetary interdictor changes! »
- The Silent Cartographer »
- Cloaking update... »
- Tools for tips »
- Fleet levels and more! »
- Game Mechanics Question and Answer Thread »
- Under Construction »

Combat Kills

Combat kills in last 24 hours:
Kills chart
Killboard

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
06/29/19 +4.0 Days
- International Talk like a Pirate Day!
09/19/19 +85.3 Days
- Towel Day
05/25/20 +334.3 Days

Search

 

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Facebook & Twitter

Why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » text bad
 Author text bad
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2005-02-09 19:53   
Its probably my system but anyway. In release when I hit the dang windowz key, and I get the window back, the text sometimes is all blocks, thus unreadable. This is all text, chat and text in the icon boxes, ect all.

In beta, I hit the kill me key (windowz) and when I got it maximized again it was all blocks. Normaly I just leave the game and rejoin. I can not fix it. I shut the game down completely, restarted, joined a map, block text still.

laptop
windowz 2000
service pack 4
x86 family 6 model 8 steping (it dances?)
~327,000 KB RAM
ATI Rage mobility-p agp
bla bla bla, drivers up to date as far as I know.

Im gana uninstall, rinse, wash, install.

I uninstalled. downloaded new, install. still block text in game.


[ This Message was edited by: Drow on 2005-02-09 20:16 ]
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Mithrandir
Chief Marshal

Joined: October 22, 2001
Posts: 1276
Posted: 2005-02-09 20:35   
Try putting your hard drive and monitor inside an MRI.
_________________


  Email Mithrandir
Ospolos
Grand Admiral

Joined: January 31, 2004
Posts: 567
From: Mississauga, ON CA
Posted: 2005-02-09 20:59   
turn off smooth fonts.

[ display properties ---> Appearance --> Effects button --> disable smooth fonts]

[ This Message was edited by: Ospolos on 2005-02-09 21:00 ]
_________________


Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2005-02-09 21:47   
bla. smooth fonts was off. I uninstalled again, removed the directory, restarted pc, reinstlled. not its worse.

The procedure entry point ...bla bla bla... could not be located.. some dll.. bla bla. Restart pc, same thing. ill try more later.

_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2005-02-12 12:32   
I uninstalled. Upgraded to DX 9.0c. Installed. all is ok now. Text is normal again.

-------

Ok. forget that. I played 1 game. Left, shut program down. Started it up again, tried to play and the text is all blocks again. Oh well.

[ This Message was edited by: Drow on 2005-02-12 12:36 ]
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4031
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2005-02-12 13:18   
speaking of borked text, theres a bit of a render issue involving text and stars.

Fig. 1 - jumping form icc gate to abz in eri, abz is between me and eri's star. note that text overlapping the star can not be read/is hard to read


Fig. 2 - arrival at abz, text is correctly rendered again

_________________


  ICQ status
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2005-02-12 13:32   
DarkSpace doesn't support being run windowed or alt+tabbed(windowed mode is for debugging purposes only) , and so you might get corruption when you hit the wondows key and maximise the program again.
It might be possible for Faustus to disable the Windows key when DarkSpace is running, I know it has been done in other games.
It's possibly an issue with hte mobility chip, but have you tried enabling/disabling alpha fonts in the ds setup?
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
$wiss
Admiral

Joined: November 08, 2002
Posts: 639
From: Prancing in the meadows with Jesus
Posted: 2005-02-12 13:41   
Bah, i can't live without Alt+Tab!!! It keeps me alive!
_________________


BackSlash
Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 23, 2003
Posts: 11180
From: Bristol, England
Posted: 2005-02-12 15:18   
DarkSpace has windowed mode in the resolution combo box in setup.....
_________________


  Goto the website of BackSlash
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2005-02-13 09:00   
Quote:

, but have you tried enabling/disabling alpha fonts in the ds setup?




heh, ya. its normaly off. When I turned it on... bad.. program would shut down with no warning.

I know its something with my laptop not likeing something.
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
BackSlash
Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 23, 2003
Posts: 11180
From: Bristol, England
Posted: 2005-02-13 14:01   
Quote:

On 2005-02-12 13:18, Doran wrote:
speaking of borked text, theres a bit of a render issue involving text and stars.

Fig. 1 - jumping form icc gate to abz in eri, abz is between me and eri's star. note that text overlapping the star can not be read/is hard to read


Fig. 2 - arrival at abz, text is correctly rendered again





Thats because darkspace hide the sun behind planets, its stupid, but it takes a bit of graphics programming to do it, and since the Engine needs a bit of an overhaul anyways, Faustus will probably work on upgrading the graphics when 1.483/4 are completed and working fine.
_________________


  Goto the website of BackSlash
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.020827 seconds.


Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Palestar Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR