Welcome aboard Visitor...

Daily Screenshot

Server Costs Target


Target met!

Latest Topics

- Reminiscing »
- Holly Cow Its alive!! »
- Messenger Battle Chat by T-Roy! »
- Getting our Player Base back »
- Fully customizable ships? »
- First Person view is possible in DS! »
- What's with the new Metaverse? »
- Carrier default loadouts - ships w/interceptors only? »
- 01001000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 »
- the mi type ships cheat »

Development Blog

- Roadmap »
- Hello strangers, it’s been a while... »
- State of DarkSpace Development »
- Potential planetary interdictor changes! »
- The Silent Cartographer »
- Cloaking update... »
- Tools for tips »
- Fleet levels and more! »
- Game Mechanics Question and Answer Thread »
- Under Construction »

Combat Kills

Combat kills in last 24 hours:
Kills chart
Killboard

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
08/24/19 +4.0 Days
- International Talk like a Pirate Day!
09/19/19 +29.3 Days
- Towel Day
05/25/20 +278.3 Days

Search

 

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Facebook & Twitter

Why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » [1.482] Aug 29th Stress Test - Post Bug Reports and Comments Here!
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
 Author [1.482] Aug 29th Stress Test - Post Bug Reports and Comments Here!
Axianda The Royal
Fleet Admiral
Terra Squadron

Joined: November 20, 2001
Posts: 4273
From: Axianda
Posted: 2004-08-29 05:28   
As i dont see any topics as of yet I hereby request that all bug reports that are made during the "final" stress test are reported in this thread.
this will prevent Faustus having to search each seperate post by himelf.

** tracert use **

Some ppl have asked how to use the Tracert command, i will post a small guide on how to do it, call it Tracert for dummies if you want

First of all go to your START button and open it, from there click on RUN this will open a new window, there you type in COMMAND this will open a Dos prompt.
in there your will enter the following: Tracert jupiter.palestar.com and press enter.
The dos prompt will new run a trace route, let it run its 30 checks and the tracert is complete.
results should be like this.
Quote:


C:\>tracert jupiter.palestar.com

Tracing route to jupiter.palestar.com [209.198.154.15]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.123.254
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * 817 ms bbn-1-tc1-core-1-ge-0-0-2-0.router.nl.demon.net
[213.222.28.246]
4 403 ms 410 ms 551 ms nkf-border-1-ge-1-0-0-0.router.nl.demon.net [82.
161.255.2]
5 537 ms 678 ms 772 ms ge5-0.mpr1.ams1.nl.above.net [82.98.253.33]
6 590 ms 516 ms 185 ms pos2-0.cr1.ams2.nl.above.net [208.184.231.54]
7 498 ms 450 ms 464 ms so-5-0-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [64.125.31.153]
8 473 ms 427 ms 466 ms so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
9 719 ms 484 ms 500 ms so-6-0-0.cr1.iad1.us.above.net [64.125.28.126]
10 409 ms 956 ms 687 ms so-2-0-0.cr1.lga1.us.above.net [64.125.28.62]
11 721 ms 314 ms 479 ms so-1-0-0.cr1.lga3.us.above.net [64.125.30.18]
12 472 ms 678 ms 703 ms fast0-0.iix-igr01.nycl.twtelecom.net [198.32.160
.35]
13 567 ms 627 ms 653 ms 66.192.240.53
14 436 ms 588 ms 841 ms core-01-so-1-0-0-0.dlfw.twtelecom.net [66.192.25
5.89]
15 332 ms 444 ms 846 ms dist-01-so-0-0-0-0.ausu.twtelecom.net [168.215.5
3.94]
16 481 ms 697 ms 422 ms 66-192-253-161.gen.twtelecom.net [66.192.253.161
]
17 419 ms 540 ms 584 ms 64.132.190.46
18 518 ms 386 ms 571 ms rsm.prismnet.com [209.198.128.2]
19 768 ms 617 ms 627 ms jupiter.palestar.com [209.198.154.15]

Trace complete.

C:\>




now ppl also asked how to save the log, this can be done by doing the following.
Right click on the Dos prompt the select the Select ALL option, this will select ALL the text in the prompt, then press ENTER this will COPY the text.
Then create a new text file on your desktop, open it and paste the date in there.
all done

hope this helps you ppl out.


_________________
You can't outrun Death forever...
But you can make the bastard work for it.....

MSN: Axianda@hotmail.com

[small][ This Message was edited by: Demorian on 2004-08-29 10:56 ][/small]

[ This Message was edited by: Axianda *XO* on 2004-08-29 14:55 ]
_________________

- Axi

Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-08-29 05:37   
If a structure requires power AND workers in the building selection menu, then it will have red text over those requirements regardless of you having enough of these resources. They can still be built as normal.

Structures requiring more than 20 tech also seem to show up as having red text over the tech requirements.

-- Further investigation hasn't been able to yet replicate these problems. I have just logged in again and it all seems fine.
--- Getting various intermittent problems along these lines in the build interface but nothing that actually is preventing you from building as normal. More ofan irritant than a serious issue. Would be very confusing for new players though.

Also the Epsilon Eri map has safe zones around ALL of the jumpgates. this means several planets are unable to be captured and built upon.
_________________
'You can tak' oour liives! But ye can ne'er tak oour troosers!'
http://darkspace.mysite.freeserve.com/

It's gone now...
It's no longer here...
Yet still I see...
And still I fear...



[small][ This Message was edited by: Drafell (Cookie Sensei) on 2004-08-29 06:00 ][/small]

[ This Message was edited by: Drafell (Cookie Sensei) on 2004-08-29 07:16 ]
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Axianda The Royal
Fleet Admiral
Terra Squadron

Joined: November 20, 2001
Posts: 4273
From: Axianda
Posted: 2004-08-29 05:48   
Was building Abzeckotec whit lvl3 defenses *fighter and Def*.
when i ran out of enough metals the TECHNOLOGY went red and the metals remained white. *tech was sufficient*
_________________

- Axi

Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-08-29 06:08   
Getting activation/deactivation messages from opposing factions on planet structures.
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Axianda The Royal
Fleet Admiral
Terra Squadron

Joined: November 20, 2001
Posts: 4273
From: Axianda
Posted: 2004-08-29 06:23   
Was attacking drafell in Rafrau orbit and just as i was to get the kill my WinXP crashed and showed my a Blue screen of Death...

EDIT

I went in again and attacked drafell 2times and both times i managed to take a kill, so np there...




would like to see the Niccea system loaded, there we have Nebula, gigantic clusters and lots of metals so we can have a realy BIG stress test there


** edit2 **

For the past 4 hours the beta server seems to have changed maps whitout any problems..

_________________
You can't outrun Death forever...
But you can make the bastard work for it.....

MSN: Axianda@hotmail.com




[ This Message was edited by: Axianda *XO* on 2004-08-29 08:32 ]
_________________

- Axi

Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-08-29 09:00   
Just tried to join a game. Managed to get to ship selection screen but I couldn't take a ship out. The buttons showed up fine but no response when I clicked them. Tracert showed no porblems on connection. 15 hops and 230ms latency on my 56k line which is about normal.
Unfortunately I forgot how to ouput tracert to text file so couldnt save the log.
P.S. Is there any possibility of including an automated tracert function into the lobby? I.E. just type /trace and it will run a traceroute to the game server...

_________________
'You can tak' oour liives! But ye can ne'er tak oour troosers!'
http://darkspace.mysite.freeserve.com/

It's gone now...
It's no longer here...
Yet still I see...
And still I fear...

[ This Message was edited by: Drafell (Cookie Sensei) on 2004-08-29 09:02 ]
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-08-29 09:27   
[S.W.]Roger had his ship capped and respawned in a new vessel. Meanwhile his old ship was still ingame....
We decided to try and cap it to see what happens. Unloaded a lot of inf onto it over a period of time, but unfortunately it got destroyed by planet defenses along with [S.W.]Rogers new ship also blowing up. Although shortly before they blew up we experienced a heavy amount of freezing and 'lag' with our ships jumping around a bit.

Still getting a clear connection according to tracert and running a ping records 0% packet loss over 30 attempts, although I do get about 4 x 700ms+ readings in the same amount.

_________________
'You can tak' oour liives! But ye can ne'er tak oour troosers!'
http://darkspace.mysite.freeserve.com/

It's gone now...
It's no longer here...
Yet still I see...
And still I fear...

[ This Message was edited by: Drafell (Cookie Sensei) on 2004-08-29 09:44 ]
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Angel of Rust
Cadet

Joined: April 15, 2004
Posts: 3
Posted: 2004-08-29 11:12   
Noticed a bug with cargo. I played as an extractor. My cargo list said that I had 2x1000 metal in my cargo. When I went to sell them at a starport, it said I had 1000 and 62 metal, respectively (which is actually correct).
_________________


Chromix
Cadet

Joined: Jun 29, 2001
Posts: 3052
Posted: 2004-08-29 11:49   
Quote:
Getting activation/deactivation messages from opposing factions on planet structures.


Fixed with the next beta update.

Quote:
just as i was to get the kill my WinXP crashed and showed my a Blue screen of Death


Usually a gfx driver problem or heat related. A windows usermode application won´t cause a BSOD. Drivers do.
You could try running 3DMark2004 in Benchmark mode for 24 hours, maybe it crashes at some point.

Quote:
Is there any possibility of including an automated tracert function into the lobby? I.E. just type /trace and it will run a traceroute to the game server


Yes. But I don´t think it´d be actually needed. Opening a command prompt and typing the traceroute command shouldn´t be much of a problem. Also doing so won´t be needed in general.

Quote:
Meanwhile his old ship was still ingame....
We decided to try and cap it to see what happens.


Interesting attempt, recap an old captured ship, hoping the players current ship might change faction aswell? Tried that again yet?


_________________


  Email Chromix
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-08-29 11:54   
I crashed! It was horrible! One minute I was flying around with just over 1000 fighters on my tail and trying to shoot Lighthand at my computers uber graphics speed of 1fps, railguns blazing at me in a screaming storm of *phhwat psshawww*! The next minute I hit the f2 button and my computer freezes!

Specs

AMD 2500+
512MB DDR 400
ATI 9600XT 256mb card
56k modem.

Congratz Faustus! Nice patch No lag whatsover caused by fighters

_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Dreadknight
Fleet Admiral

Joined: March 10, 2004
Posts: 39
From: Denmark
Posted: 2004-08-29 11:59   
When game is complete and you watch the stats of those there where in the game the game crashes no mouse or anything just have to use task manager to close the game
_________________
ABANDON ALL HOPE

  Email Dreadknight
Axianda The Royal
Fleet Admiral
Terra Squadron

Joined: November 20, 2001
Posts: 4273
From: Axianda
Posted: 2004-08-29 12:06   
Quote:

On 2004-08-29 11:54, Drafell (Cookie Sensei) wrote:
I crashed! It was horrible! One minute I was flying around with just over 1000 fighters on my tail and trying to shoot Lighthand at my computers uber graphics speed of 1fps, railguns blazing at me in a screaming storm of *phhwat psshawww*! The next minute I hit the f2 button and my computer freezes!

Specs

AMD 2500+
512MB DDR 400
ATI 9600XT 256mb card
56k modem.

Congratz Faustus! Nice patch No lag whatsover caused by fighters






maybe the starmap cant handle loading all the fighters all at once...



** edit **

Also a little bug here, i cant seem to load any music.
I tell the setup to look in my MP3 folder for music but it wont play.

_________________
You can't outrun Death forever...
But you can make the bastard work for it.....

MSN: Axianda@hotmail.com

[ This Message was edited by: Axianda *XO* on 2004-08-29 12:08 ]
_________________

- Axi

Forseth (Ret)
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 01, 2003
Posts: 828
From: Forseth
Posted: 2004-08-29 13:01   
i played the Stress Test a bit today, and it seemed very well in tune. the one thing i didnt like. was the new font. it seems to be a little to small for this game, meaning whenever i would type a "w" there would be no spaces in the letter, making it look al little like a upside down triangle. but overall im digging this new version and i cant wait for it to be released into the wild

~Forseth-
_________________


  Email Forseth (Ret)
Serapis
Fleet Admiral

Joined: July 09, 2002
Posts: 73
From: Europe
Posted: 2004-08-29 13:01   
Hi,

just a minute ago a got major lag and one discoe in Beta.

major lag one was, when 2 ships were fring missiles. Not many, just afew on a nme.
Here is tracelog 0: (unfortunately lag was over before tracert finished)
Routenverfolgung zu jupiter.palestar.com [209.198.154.15] ber maximal 30 Abschnitte:



1 <10 ms <10 ms <10 ms my.router [192.168.1.254]

2 61 ms 70 ms 60 ms 217.5.98.97

3 60 ms 60 ms 70 ms 217.237.153.78

4 160 ms 161 ms 190 ms NYC-gw14.USA.net.DTAG.DE [62.156.131.157]

5 150 ms 161 ms 150 ms tran-02-so-0-1-0-0.nycl.twtelecom.net [66.192.252.249]

6 160 ms 150 ms 160 ms core-01-ge-0-2-1-0.nycl.twtelecom.net [66.192.240.41]

7 200 ms 200 ms 201 ms core-01-so-1-0-0-0.dlfw.twtelecom.net [66.192.255.89]

8 211 ms 200 ms 210 ms dist-01-so-0-0-0-0.ausu.twtelecom.net [168.215.53.94]

9 210 ms 200 ms 211 ms 66-192-253-161.gen.twtelecom.net [66.192.253.161]

10 201 ms 210 ms 210 ms 64.132.190.46

11 211 ms 210 ms 200 ms rsm.prismnet.com [209.198.128.2]

12 211 ms 210 ms 200 ms jupiter.palestar.com [209.198.154.15]



Ablaufverfolgung beendet.






Heres the second one:
I was UGTO (ICC was full) and I was sitting at P1 for modding, when an nme extractor came in for mining. We all shot (2 people plus 4 def bases of the planet). I pushed the tracert batch, cuz I got a latency of 6000+ and finally discoed.
This log could finish in time, before the "show" was over.

1 10 ms <10 ms <10 ms my.router [192.168.1.254]

2 60 ms 60 ms 60 ms 217.5.98.97

3 60 ms 60 ms 60 ms 217.237.153.78

4 150 ms 150 ms 160 ms NYC-gw14.USA.net.DTAG.DE [62.156.131.157]

5 160 ms 150 ms 150 ms tran-02-so-0-1-0-0.nycl.twtelecom.net [66.192.252.249]

6 160 ms 160 ms 150 ms core-01-ge-0-2-1-0.nycl.twtelecom.net [66.192.240.41]

7 * 211 ms 200 ms core-01-so-1-0-0-0.dlfw.twtelecom.net [66.192.255.89]

8 200 ms 201 ms 210 ms dist-01-so-0-0-0-0.ausu.twtelecom.net [168.215.53.94]

9 200 ms 211 ms 200 ms 66-192-253-161.gen.twtelecom.net [66.192.253.161]

10 211 ms 200 ms 210 ms 64.132.190.46

11 200 ms 210 ms 211 ms rsm.prismnet.com [209.198.128.2]

12 210 ms 200 ms 201 ms jupiter.palestar.com [209.198.154.15]



Ablaufverfolgung beendet.




Well, all the log files seem to be okl, since a ping of 200 is normal for me.
The other guys around me could not feel teh lag, or not that intense.

Hope I could help,

Serapis
_________________
Nostradamus is nothing compared to George Orwell

  Goto the website of Serapis   ICQ status
Mithrandir
Chief Marshal

Joined: October 22, 2001
Posts: 1276
Posted: 2004-08-29 13:21   
Clicking on names to /send to them in gcql doesn't seem to work any longer.

Hmm.. seems to work now. Nevermind.

[ This Message was edited by: Mithrandir on 2004-08-29 14:13 ]
_________________


  Email Mithrandir
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.022255 seconds.


Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Palestar Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR