Welcome aboard Visitor...

Daily Screenshot

Server Costs Target


9% of target met.

Latest Topics

- Getting our Player Base back »
- What's with the new Metaverse? »
- Carrier default loadouts - ships w/interceptors only? »
- Holly Cow Its alive!! »
- 01001000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 »
- the mi type ships cheat »
- First Person view is possible in DS! »
- Latency Issues »
- missing dll. »
- 1.741 »

Development Blog

- Roadmap »
- Hello strangers, it’s been a while... »
- State of DarkSpace Development »
- Potential planetary interdictor changes! »
- The Silent Cartographer »
- Cloaking update... »
- Tools for tips »
- Fleet levels and more! »
- Game Mechanics Question and Answer Thread »
- Under Construction »

Combat Kills

Combat kills in last 24 hours:
Kills chart
Killboard

Upcoming Events

- International Talk like a Pirate Day!
09/19/19 +94.8 Days
- Towel Day
05/25/20 +343.8 Days

Search

 

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Facebook & Twitter

Why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » Comm box and remote torp detonation.
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
 Author Comm box and remote torp detonation.
Roger
Fleet Admiral
Sundered Weimeriners


Joined: November 07, 2001
Posts: 105
Posted: 2004-02-25 22:48   
When you press 'enter' comm box appears.
Comm box should disapear if there is no text and you press 'enter' again.


I am sure someone mentioned next one....
Every time torps are detonated beam PD toggles. PLEAS FIX IT ALREADY!

P.S. Errrrr.... this was actualy suposed to be responce to the "Official Beta Interface Thread" but something went terribly wrong.

[ This Message was edited by: Roger on 2004-02-25 22:50 ]
_________________


-=Arch=-
Cadet

Joined: July 10, 2002
Posts: 214
From: *CLASSIFIED*
Posted: 2004-02-25 22:50   
Hes right .... that is kinda annoying ...



_________________


[ This Message was edited by: -=Arch=- on 2004-02-25 22:51 ]
_________________


  Goto the website of -=Arch=-   ICQ status
Faustus
Marshal
Palestar


Joined: May 29, 2001
Posts: 2747
From: Austin, Texas
Posted: 2004-02-26 09:31   
OK, here is the problem.... When you hold down Shift, thats the alternative use for all gadgets... well for beams, that toggles PD, for torps it dets...

In the new code, I've pre-assigned all weapon types to groups, so if torps are in group 2, Shift-2 will det those torps as well.

-Richard
_________________


  Goto the website of Faustus
Piotr-san
Chief Marshal
*Renegade Space Marines*


Joined: July 18, 2002
Posts: 384
From: Poland
Posted: 2004-02-26 09:36   
Shift spacebar is the most ergonomic way to detonate your torpsId rtaher use ctrl b for toggeling pd then using other then shfit spacbar cpmbination for detonating torps.

_________________
* LobbyGhost votes [PB]Piotr-San for most likly to be Dems mom
Raptus regaliter

Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-02-26 10:00   
Ahah! Selective detonation! Thnx Faustus
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Faustus
Marshal
Palestar


Joined: May 29, 2001
Posts: 2747
From: Austin, Texas
Posted: 2004-02-26 11:27   
Piotr....

Holding down SHIFT while using any device, performs an alternative use for that device... since Beams and Torps both use SPACE as their hotkey, the default action is the det torps AND toggle PD.

All you need to do, is assign the torps to a group (i.e. 1-9), then hold down SHIFT and press the hotkey for the device.

I'm tired of everyone saying this is a bug, because it's NOT, it's by design

-Richard

_________________
Richard -Faustus- Lyle
Lead Programmer - DarkSpace
www.darkspace.net / www.palestar.com


[ This Message was edited by: Faustus on 2004-02-26 11:27 ]
_________________


  Goto the website of Faustus
Barthezzz
Fleet Admiral

Joined: May 31, 2001
Posts: 5630
From: The Netherlands
Posted: 2004-02-26 11:48   
Its not a bug but simply a hole in the design...

Shift+Space:
1: Turns off all beams youve set to point defense
2: Turns on all beams that you havent set to point defense
3: Manual Detonates your weapons.

Now lets take our little and decide which of these 3 points are REALLY pointless.
1: Do we want to disable the point defense on our light beams when we are fighting inside an enemy cluster? HELL NO!
2: Do we want set our Heavy beams to point defense while fighting so they can shoot at projetiles and use up energy instead of killing enemies? HELL NO!
3: Do we want to detonate our Project based weapons so the splash damage will do damage to the enemy even though you would have actually missed? HELL YEAH!

It seems to me the answer is pretty obvious here, Scrap points 1 and 2. Nobody uses them...

Heck i would find this Single update far more important then anything else that has been added to the beta in the past few days and im sure there are a lot of people who agree with me...

_________________
Fleet Admiral Barthezzz - Intergalactic Pirate...Rawr...


[ This Message was edited by: Barthezzz on 2004-02-26 11:51 ]
_________________


  Goto the website of Barthezzz
-=Arch=-
Cadet

Joined: July 10, 2002
Posts: 214
From: *CLASSIFIED*
Posted: 2004-02-26 11:56   
I never knew that when you assigned them to a group you could det them with shift "Group"

Learn sumthin new everyday.



_________________


[ This Message was edited by: -=Arch=- on 2004-02-26 11:56 ]
_________________


  Goto the website of -=Arch=-   ICQ status
Iglooman (SF)
Cadet

Joined: September 15, 2003
Posts: 24
From: Northern Ontario
Posted: 2004-02-26 12:09   
Alternate suggestion, if spacebar can't be changed - can we have the ability to put a weapon into more than one group...

The problem - putting some torps into group 1, some into group 2, and some into group 3. You fire each group, a short period apart at the same target to create a bit of a spread. You want to detonate all of them at the same time. The most convenient way - Shift-space. And suddenly your PD is all messed up... Can we have the ability, if you can't change (or don't want to) shift-space, then can we put our torps into two groups, some into groups 1,2, and 3 for spread firing, and all into group 9 for detonation. Of course, a grouping that is easier to use to detonate torpedoes would be nicer... Like shift-space... Nice and easy to get to under fire and duress... And not as likely to cause carpal tunnel syndrome reaching for two keys than just don't work easily together...

For those of us on dialup, there is too much lag at times to pinpoint detonate each group - hence the spread...

Sorry F, but as it stands right now, Shift-Space is the most useful way to detonate all torps, and the most frustrating... I'm sure many will testify the same thing - and rightly so - it wasn't designed for it. We just want to be able to detonate our spreads at the same time easily. I like the idea of being able to control which weapons detonate, but like I said, having two groupings per weapon is the only really effective way for what we're looking for. This way missles won't be detonated by Shift-Space. Let's all hear it for the torpedo detonation button - TAB - Torpedo All Boom! Yeah, that's what we need! TAB!

Anyone else agree?
_________________

Mike Drenth - Temagami

  Goto the website of Iglooman (SF)
MrSparkle
Marshal

Joined: August 13, 2001
Posts: 1910
From: mrsparkle
Posted: 2004-02-26 13:04   
I can't believe I never knew you could detonate a group of weapons by shift-#! I always used shift-space like everyone else cuz it was easier. I have to get used to using shift-#.

Does that work if you fired that torp group with the spacebar? I often fire my torps with space instead of the group #. Depends on the ship I'm using.
_________________


Lark of Serenity
Grand Admiral
Raven Warriors

Joined: June 02, 2002
Posts: 2516
Posted: 2004-02-26 16:46   
yes u can put a weapon into more then 1 group

i think the max is 2 however, never tried 3
_________________
Admiral Larky, The Wolf
Don't play with fire, play with Larky.
Raven Division Command - 1st Division


Ascension(Purge)
Admiral

Joined: March 04, 2003
Posts: 194
Posted: 2004-02-26 17:34   
I agree with the rest shift space should be devoted to torp detonation...I always wondered why torps would blow up after missing me...God all the kills I could of had if I'd KNOWN!
_________________
UGTO: Because we remember honor...

  Email Ascension(Purge)
Ascension(Purge)
Admiral

Joined: March 04, 2003
Posts: 194
Posted: 2004-02-26 17:41   
P.S. A new spread command should be made were you press maybe control S and it fires your entire compliment of weapons or maybe just selected ones in a 180 degree or 90 degree arc of your choosing.
_________________
UGTO: Because we remember honor...

  Email Ascension(Purge)
Antra
Admiral
Agents

Joined: February 16, 2002
Posts: 657
From: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posted: 2004-02-26 17:54   
I like the spread idea...since I use a makeshift "spread" anyway by targeting very close to my ship, though it would be nice to have it fire in a plane equal that upon which ships fly
_________________


  Email Antra
g0ds s0ldier
Grand Admiral
Pitch Black


Joined: October 24, 2002
Posts: 954
Posted: 2004-02-26 19:18   
Shift+Group# doesnt work in Release guys, he means BETA i think, but i know it doesnt work in Release.
_________________
Pitch Black

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.042899 seconds.


Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Palestar Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR