Welcome aboard Visitor...

Daily Screenshot

Server Costs Target


Target met!

Latest Topics

- Reminiscing »
- Holly Cow Its alive!! »
- Messenger Battle Chat by T-Roy! »
- Getting our Player Base back »
- Fully customizable ships? »
- First Person view is possible in DS! »
- What's with the new Metaverse? »
- Carrier default loadouts - ships w/interceptors only? »
- 01001000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 »
- the mi type ships cheat »

Development Blog

- Roadmap »
- Hello strangers, it’s been a while... »
- State of DarkSpace Development »
- Potential planetary interdictor changes! »
- The Silent Cartographer »
- Cloaking update... »
- Tools for tips »
- Fleet levels and more! »
- Game Mechanics Question and Answer Thread »
- Under Construction »

Combat Kills

Combat kills in last 24 hours:
Kills chart
Killboard

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
08/24/19 +4.1 Days
- International Talk like a Pirate Day!
09/19/19 +29.4 Days
- Towel Day
05/25/20 +278.4 Days

Search

 

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Facebook & Twitter

Why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » Official Beta Interface Thread...
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
 Author Official Beta Interface Thread...
Faustus
Marshal
Palestar


Joined: May 29, 2001
Posts: 2747
From: Austin, Texas
Posted: 2004-02-25 16:41   
If you haven't checked in BETA yet, alot has changed with the interface...

All commands are now inside submenus, and the spacebar is now context senstive (if you have a planet targeted, spacebar is the orbit comand now, enemy ship is alpha strike, etc).

I know some tweaking will need to be done, not to mention adjusting to the new controls is a bit confusing for the vetern user. However, I think the new control scheme will ultimately be easier for new players to use, who do not already have O as orbit imprinted into their brains. Please keep this in mind, and try the interface out for a hour or so before passing any judgement.

NOTE: in-game Options screen is now gone, HUD colors are being moved to client setup shortly.

Please post your feedback and comments... keep it positive
_________________


  Goto the website of Faustus
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4031
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2004-02-25 16:59   
Quote:

On 2004-02-25 16:41, Faustus wrote:
NOTE: in-game Options screen is now gone, HUD colors are being moved to client setup shortly.


hmm, how about the key binds screen under options? client setup as well? gone completly? gone untill it works?
_________________


  ICQ status
-Baron Von Virtu
Cadet

Joined: December 21, 2002
Posts: 411
Posted: 2004-02-25 17:08   
Quote:

On 2004-02-25 16:59, Doran wrote:
Quote:

On 2004-02-25 16:41, Faustus wrote:
NOTE: in-game Options screen is now gone, HUD colors are being moved to client setup shortly.


hmm, how about the key binds screen under options? client setup as well? gone completly? gone untill it works?




Good question, I cant change the colors either. And, you should keep the spacebar to center on a target while in navigation.
_________________

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\r\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\n
Site Director - The Darkspace Connection - http://www.3dap.com/darkspace

Piotr-san
Chief Marshal
*Renegade Space Marines*


Joined: July 18, 2002
Posts: 384
From: Poland
Posted: 2004-02-25 17:14   
New intarafce isnt bad but why do a whole remaping of shourtcuts even if you feel thats necessary for making some things easier for new players some of most used shourtcuts could be left alone like "shift e" "shift r" "ctrl r" "shift m" "shift b" "shift s" "shift j " "ctrl j" "shift h" and "ctrl h".

_________________
* LobbyGhost votes [PB]Piotr-San for most likly to be Dems mom
Raptus regaliter

g0ds s0ldier
Grand Admiral
Pitch Black


Joined: October 24, 2002
Posts: 954
Posted: 2004-02-25 17:16   
Quote:

On 2004-02-25 17:08, -Baron Von Virtu wrote:

And, you should keep the spacebar to center on a target while in navigation.




Yes please
_________________
Pitch Black

NoPants2win
Cadet

Joined: February 23, 2002
Posts: 1275
From: Poorly ventilated paint storage facility.
Posted: 2004-02-25 18:23   
Yeah thats kind of important.
_________________
You sir, have an incurable case of rationality. I'm afraid the only thing you can do is develop a deep cynicism before the stress of searching for something you cannot find causes a stroke.

  Goto the website of NoPants2win   ICQ status
Sopwith Camel
Grand Admiral
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 07, 2002
Posts: 651
From: Toronto
Posted: 2004-02-25 18:33   
To tell the truth, I don't really like the new key assignments. The way we play this game is like second nature to us: to orbit a planet you select and press 'o', to load cargo, you press 'l', etc.

I really appreciate the way that the buttons to "load" or "orbit" in the lower right hand corner is now quite large, but I hope that we will be able to remap the keys to what we're used to in future versions of beta.

I think that the new interface is pretty neat, especially since spacebar is context-sensitive now: newbies will have less of a chance at friendly fire!

BUG: when you 'use' the shipyard (spacebar in the new system) the server message still says to use 'control-u' to confirm.

_________________

| [Galactic Navy] | [Matthew Good] |

[ This Message was edited by: Sopwith Camel {C?} on 2004-02-25 18:38 ]
_________________

Fleet Commander, Galactic Navy

MrSparkle
Marshal

Joined: August 13, 2001
Posts: 1910
From: mrsparkle
Posted: 2004-02-25 18:36   
So long as I can reset it so O is orbit and spacebar just centers the nav screen in F2 I won't have any problems with it But right now it's just bleh.
_________________


JackSwift
Cadet
Sundered Weimeriners


Joined: October 30, 2002
Posts: 1806
From: Where the Sun dont Shine (Seattle-ish)
Posted: 2004-02-25 19:00   
Don't you people know how to double click? (Hint: that also centers targets in nav mode...)
_________________
(too lazy to rehost that old sig)



\"Errare Human Est.\"





  Email JackSwift
Rocki
Grand Admiral

Joined: August 13, 2002
Posts: 1028
Posted: 2004-02-25 19:07   
I played it for a good hour or more... and frankly, i dont like it.

The little popup menus are neat, but the spacebar thing is driving me nuts. Half the time i was in there i spent fleeing from enemy planets, or aborting the jump to them.

Agreed, the changing functions for the spacebar are neat, but it is simply too confusing. A general purpose key like this is nice, but please make it another key and leave space, o , l , etc. as they were. This gives you the option to use the old system, or use the new all-purpose key.

Oh and can you please make the hud a little lighter? Its about impossible to see the difference between en- and disabled buttons.

PS: arrow keys are back, yay!
_________________


Spaceflower (Swe)
1st Rear Admiral

Joined: December 28, 2002
Posts: 73
From: Sweden
Posted: 2004-02-25 19:20   
I must admit the new interface was, well, a lot of confusing at the begining, but I think I'm getting a hold of it. Don't know if I like the colorscheme though (gate), i prefer highlighted for accesseble ships and dark for non accesseble. But i guess that is something you can change later on, if I have understud this correctly, it just that i never do *s*

the new system layout is good though, but I would like the slot name (i.e. Special 1) to be displayed even if you have things installed in that perticullar slot.

..not much, but some.



_________________
/Spaceflower

Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2004-02-25 19:44   
Not sure if its a problem with new interface but....

If you go into f3 mode on a planet and rightclick to rotate planet, it sometimes gets stuck and only way to unstick is to exit screen, reenter the screen and then right click.
Also using space to center on target would be appreciated in nav screen, not to orbit. This ties in with the use of space in other games to center on your current target.

_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Raiders
Cadet

Joined: Dec 28, 2001
Posts: 353
From: Cali
Posted: 2004-02-25 20:11   
Well my main issues with it are

1. you cant toggle PD on all beams at once you have to go through
each one

2. you cant det your torps

3. some of the old controls were already fairly intuitive like O for orbit
and L for load

4. planet options connected to space bar change with relative distance
*example: at 250gu from a shipyard your option is to dock while
at 251gu it pauses the structure

5. the comands in the planet pop up menu (like nearest shipyard and
starport) all read hotkeys that don't work

6. target nearest supply targets the nearest friendly planet whether it
has a depot or not, even if a depot is on the planet it doesnt target
it, just the planet itself


_________________


Death is just the first step along an unknown path

  Email Raiders
Faustus
Marshal
Palestar


Joined: May 29, 2001
Posts: 2747
From: Austin, Texas
Posted: 2004-02-25 20:18   
Raiders,

Press the C key, then D key to toggle PD for all beam weapons...

T key, then S key (I think) to target nearest depot..

-Richard
_________________


  Goto the website of Faustus
MrSparkle
Marshal

Joined: August 13, 2001
Posts: 1910
From: mrsparkle
Posted: 2004-02-25 21:40   
The spacebar thing is driving me nuts too. Spacebar does too many things now, even loads infantry. Odd that U unloads infantry, but L doesn't load them.

And when engineering, to scrap a building you need to press E then S, then E then S again, and not too fast. Same for most other functions like disbanding infantry. Before it was a simple ctrl-q twice, nice and quick.

Overall it's not good. The old system is easier and there weren't too many 'hidden' menus like in this one. I don't think new players are gonna find this interface any easier? Just like I don't think they're gonna find the new tech system easier than researching (it's way more complicated this new system of engineering). Thing is the tech system is a nice improvement, and I LIKE how complicated it is as I enjoy engineering. Not this interface An hour or two of it now and it's just bleh.

New interface is harder to use and takes longer to do simple things with. Do like suggested and make the all-purpose key backspace or something, and allow us to keep our old keys. I figure, if us vets have the old keys burned into our memories now, what's stopping a new player from learning them? I thought the old interface was easy to learn anyway? Has anyone actually had a problem learning it? It's intuitive, it's fast, it's easy, so what's wrong with it that it needed to be changed?


_________________
"My father taught me many things ... keep your friends close, but your enemies closer" -Michael Corleone

[ This Message was edited by: MrSparkle on 2004-02-25 21:55 ]
_________________


Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.020761 seconds.


Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Palestar Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR